The Prix Jardin d'Europe 2012 took place in the frame of the [8:tension] Young Choreographers' Series in Vienna and was awarded on August 12, 2012.

The following productions were in the competition for the Prix Jardin d'Europe 2012

Christine Borch (DE/DK) „The body that comes“
Jefta van Dinther (SE/NL) & Minna Tiikkainen (FI/NL) & David Kiers (NL) „GRIND“
Naoko Tanaka (DE/JP) „Die Scheinwerferin“
Azra Ibrahimovic (HR) & Aleksandar Georgiev (MK/BG) & Jovana Rakic Kiselcic (RS) „Concerto for three
Florentina Holzinger (DE/AT) „Silk“
Eeva Muilu & Milja Sarkola (FI) „In Human Disguise“
Georgia Vardarou (BE/GR) „Hardcore research on dance“
An Kaler (AT) „Insignificant Others (learning to look sideways“
The Loose Collective (AT) „Here comes the crook“
Ula Sickle (BE/CA) „Light Solos“
The Bandaloop (AT) „Stardoom“
Sebastian Matthias (DE) „Tremor“
Fabian Barba (BE/EC) „a personal yet collective history“

View the detailed program of [8:tension] Young Choreographers' Series >>here

A jury consisting of three international dance experts (Bettina Kogler/imagetanz, Koen Kwanten/APAP, Gergely Tallo/Workshop Foundation) viewed and discussed all 13 nominated productions and awarded the Prix Jardin d'Europe 2012 in the frame of the award ceremony, on August 12, 2012, 5pm at the Odeon Theatre Vienna.

The prize went in equal shares to

Eeva Muilu & Milja Sarkola (FI) for the production „In Human Disguise“
EUR 5.000,- and an artistic residency

Florentina Holzinger (NL/AT) for the production „Silk“
EUR 5.000,- and an artistic residency

The sculpture „Papilotte“ designed by fine artist Heiri Häfliger (recommended by Atelier Franz West) went to: Naoko Tanaka (DE/JP) for the production „Die Scheinwerferin“

The jury consisting of the three dance experts Bettina Kogler (imagetanz / Austria), Koen Kwanten (APAP / Belgium) and Gergely Tallo (Workshop Foundation / Hungary) explained its decision to give the price not to the performance they appreciated the most, but to use the Prix Jardin d’Europe to support, stimulate and invest in the future, to give it to the artists they consider to have the biggest potential, deserves the most to be supported and stimulated to continue, and for whom the impact of the prize might be the biggest.

The jury also decided to give the price not to one person, but to give several prices, consisting not only of a financial support, but also of residencies in order to give them new possibilities, experiences and environments for the continuation of their artistic work.

Their decision to hand out the sculpture designed by Heiri Häfliger to Naoko Tanaka the jury members explained in their speech: "Then, we also decided to give the sculpture of Heiri Häfliger nominated by Atelier Franz West to still someone else, as a symbolic appreciation and stimulus to continue finding his/her way. In this case we want stimulate an artist coming from a different artistic field, crossing borders, looking for a new territory!"

copyright by Judith Lutz